Tags

, , , , , ,

IMG_20141114_151322

Its FCS time again!

This company I really love. Don’t get me wrong I adore Lush (haul/favourites on the way) but they are more aimed towards being natural and the benefits for you and skin. Whereas the Fortune Cookie Soap company are geared to towards the wild and wacky scents (in a good way)! This seasons box was a winner for all but one scent, which I’m pleasantly surprised at.  Now, I’m still full of cold, but I am slowly getting my sense of smell back so here comes my best attempt of describing smells over the internet!:

Lets start off with the signature fortune cookie. This one’s called “‘Tis the Season to be Mary”:

20141114_151858

“A hint of sweet almond with warm swirls of tobacco”. I know what you’re thinking, tobacco? How can that smell nice? Well, it does! This one is hard to describe, the almond is there, but it also has a slightly spicier scent to it, plus a bit of incense throw in. For a winter scent its pretty “clean” smelling- not heavy at all. I really want it in a candle or a room spray, its one of those scents you want to hit you when you walk in a room.

“I Pledge Allegiance, Amen!” Shower Steamer

“A brisk and outdoorsy blend of blue spruce a balsam fir, fresh mint and garden herbs” This was actually the first thing I opened. I knew it had mint in so I went straight to it just to see how likely it was to blow what’s left of my cold out of me. Mint. So. Much mint! I reminds me heavily of olbas oil, but not quite so strong that it makes you recoil. The spruce and pine are there, but its mainly just mint. Personally I love it, and will definitely be getting it in something else (if they have it in cuticle butter or something like that I’m getting it)! Speaking of cuticle butter…

“Moose Mug” Cuticle Butter

“Rich cream, egg, and a touch of nutmeg”. As a Brit I didn’t really know what eggnog smelt like, but now i do, and I must say i don’t really want to drink it! This is the only scent in the box I don’t like. Its not unpleasant at all, but I don’t want any bit of me to smell of it. Its a scent that belongs on a plate or in a bowl. Its creamy and nutmeggy, but it just smells too much like some sickly dessert to want it on my skin. I do like foodie scents, but I’m more of a “just walked into a bakery” foodie that actual “food on my plate” type – if you catch my drift?

“Sparky” Hydrate Me

20141114_151910

“Scrumptious vanilla pumpkin waffles topped brown sugar, pecans and sheets of fresh whipped cream”. Sadly, I didn’t get the “blown bulb” (no gift voucher for me) but it did arrive in one piece! Now, this is a “walked into a bakery” scent if there ever was one! Rich and creamy with vanilla, sugar and that wonderful pancake/ waffle scent. I am sooo looking forward to using this one! No need to say anything else. Get it. Use it. Love it.

“Christmas Bonus” Deep Conditioner

This is the other item in the box that comes with the potential to win a gift voucher. No scent description given.  I’m not going to give away too much- nor can I really with my cold! But piney, maybe mint, maybe??? Lots going on in it so will require me sitting with other products and sniffing for matches. Its incredibly thick, even more so than their WCs but I haven’t tested it out yet so can’t comment on the actual conditioning ability of it, but I’ve heard good things.

“Mele Kelekimaka” OCD

20141114_151921

“Tropical spiced rum, Tahitian vanilla. sprinkled with jasmine petals ad twisted woods”.  There’s no easier way to describe this scent than to just say, Malibu. You’re basically rubbing Malibu into your hands but without the stickiness of the actual booze. And with just a hint of a woodsy scent underneath the rum. Now, I like malibu, and I like this. Whether I buy it in other things I’m yet to decide, but probably not in a product which will linger on my skin least people think I’m an alcoholic!

“SQUIRREL” Whipped Cream

If you didn’t just say that in your head in the Dug from Up voice, I’m judging.

“A festive blend of apples, sun ripened strawberries and plums dancing with zests of orange and a splash of lime”. I love citrusy, fruity scents, so I love this. Someone has basically put those fancy, fruity shower gels into a WC. Nothing more to add. Another one to buy in ALL THE THINGS!

“Fried Pussycat” Whipped Soap

20141114_152036

Last but not least… “Juicy plum and whipped caramel wrapped in artisan bourbon vanilla and jasmine blossoms”. Mine actually arrived not deflated, which was pretty amazing for saying how far its travelled. Its a fresh scent, very vaguely floral. More of the fruit and vanilla to be smelt. I do understand the comments of “it just smells like nice soap”. It does. Its a really nice scent, but definitely soapy. It would be nice as a WC for times when you just want to freshen up your hands without overwhelming yourself with a strong smell.

Final verdict:

I loved this box and everything in it apart from the cuticle butter. I really nice mix of scents and not as heavy as the autumn box. Now to go blast my cold out of my skull with that shower steamer!

Ciao! xxx

