Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A favourites post in the middle of december- what?!

Well, I kinda missed the boat with the november favourites and I didn’t want to wait until after christmas when I’m bound to have more things to get excited about. So here is a little list of beauty products that I’ve been loving recently (prizes for guessing which brands I love!)

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation (Shade 150 Ivory)

20141215_154128

Now I haven’t been wearing for very long – probably only the past 6 months or so. I’m lucky enough to have pretty clear skin so just stuck to BB creams. However, I get a lot of redness in my face and felt that I had to try and find something to cover it up. This is the 3rd foundation that I’ve tried and I’m really liking it. Its only a light- medium coverage but most days that’s all I need. It matches my skin really well and feels really light on my face. Its not the best i’ve had for covering my redness but it does sit the best on my face compared to others. It also has the benefits of being pretty cheap  and having a decent amount of shades for a high street foundation. There are 8 shades (although there are 18 on the US site so maybe more will be coming over here) with a good mix of pink and yellow tones, which is usually my downfall with foundation as I have quite sallow coloured skin (with redness to give me even more grief) so I usually find it really hard to find products which match my skin without sending me too pink or too orange. If you’re fairly pale its definately a foundation to test out.

Maybelline Superstay 24 Colour (Shade 611 Creme Caramel)

2014-12-15 16.13.01Now this is a product to rave about! I first found it when looking for yet more red lipsticks, I swatched a bit on my hand, wandered off and forgot about it…until I came to wash all the swatches off. This thing did not budge one tiny bit. I showered with the swatch on and scrubbed at it and barely made a dent. When this says 24 hour stay it well and truly means it! I went back and picked this up in a fairly nude colour so I can’t really tell quite how much it wears off on my lips, but I bet you it will stick around all day. I fully intend to go pick this up a red shade and use it as my eating out lip stain. I implore everyone to go a swatch this (wait for it to dry) then attempt to get this off without using make-up wipes. You won’t succeed very quickly.

Maybelline Baby Lips (Dr Rescue)

20141215_155218

Now this came free when you bought 3 other Maybelline products (do you sense the theme yet?) and seeing as my lips were dry and peeling and going seriously weird i thought why not? This has menthol in so is not just your basic moisturising lip balm. When you put it on you can tell theres menthol but it doesn’t feel too strong. Despite this it does seem to be working, my lips are way better and this little stick is more convenient to carry round than my EOS eggs. Having a good lip balm is really important in winter, especially when you’re out in the elements all day like me!

Maybelline Express Nail Varnish Remover

20141215_160012

Now everyone raved about the Bourjois version of this when it first came out and I never jumped on the bandwagon, but Maybelline have the usual 3 for 2 deal on and the free Lip Balm on top so I thought why not give this a try? It has made taking my nail varnish off so much easier and it actually gets 99% of it off in just a few seconds. Its not a perfect product by any means (don’t tip it over!) but its a nice little novelty which is more convenient for those of use who always have nail varnish on than having to hunt down cotton wool and then attempt to not spill normal nail varnish remover everywhere. If you know someone who wears a lot of nail varnish it would be a good little christmas present for them.

Topshop Nail Varnish

20141215_155507

Sadly I don’t actually know what colour this one is in. I have done a  little hunt online and it seems to be pretty similar to the matte one called “Dress Up”.  I was looking for a nail varnish to go with my Winter Ball dress and my friend spotted this one. Unfortunately we didn’t realise that it was the exhibit one until we got it home – and apparently the exhibit ones don’t have a brush in! I had to go hunt down an old polish to steal the brush off (which is why it doesn’t have the signature spotty top on. Despite this little hiccup I actually really like this colour. I used to only wear nails in black (or very dark grey to quote lego batman) and then i stopped and only went for pastel colours. But with winter approaching (I’ll save you yet another pop culture reference) I figured dark nails should make a return. Its a really rice brown-red colour and if i was in charge of naming, I would have probably called it something like Mulled Wine. I’m currently wearing it with Barry M’s Amethyst Glitter on top- which I think will be my christmas nail combo.

LUSH 9 to 5 Cleansing Lotion

20141215_154817

Now onto the second brand that I sell my soul to- Lush! I have spent so many years using make-up wipes and having to switch before I finished a packet because they kept irritating my face. No matter which ones I used after a few weeks of using them my skin had had enough and even the gentlest of wipe would be so harsh against my skin. I ended up finding this after one of the Lush assistants hounded me down and was smothering my hands in every product in the shop (he was cute, i couldn’t say no). I ended up asking for it for my birthday, because I didn’t want to waste money on another product that might not be kind to my skin.

I needn’t have worried. Its so gentle on my skin and actually gets through my eyeliner- which is no mean feat. If you’re struggling like i did with regular make-up wipe go give this a try. I don’t use it like the bottle says. I just put some on a cotton pad and then wipe it round my face to take my make up off. I’ve gone through over 30 pads worth and I’ve barely made a dent in the bottle- so value for money there too!

LUSH Celestial Facial Moisturiser 

20141215_155126

I am becoming a true Lush convert. I think in part because of some of the research I’m doing for my degree. I’m being put off a lot of chemicals and turning back to “ye olde” herbal remedies (did you know that many of our medicines are just compounds synthesised from medicinal plants- and aren’t always as effective?). Man-made chemicals have their place and modern medicine is amazing, but I still maintain that using olive oil on my skin cured my eczema when all of these fancy medicated creams did not (I will have to do a separate post on this).

Anyway, this is my second moisturiser from Lush. I started off with Skin Drink, which really helped my dry skin, but i was finding it a bit too heavy once I’d dealt with my dry patches. Celestial claims to be for sensitive skin and it is so so light on my skin. I do have really red skin and it seems a little better- not 100% better but it has made a difference. Its not the cheapest moisturiser but it does last a good while and once you’ve emptied 5 Lush pots (from any products) you can get a free pot of face mask!

Fortune Cookie Soap “Swankified” Walnut Scrub.

20141215_160150

Last but not least, this product has been my life since I got the sample in the Autumn box. I missed out on buying the full sized product and was devastated when it disappeared. Luckily, they bought it back as a permanent product! I snapped it up instantly. Its such a good facial scrub, it makes my skin feel so soft and doesn’t irritate it at all! If you’re prepared with the shipping costs please go get a pot (and a few other things to make it worth the shipping)!

So there you go! These are my favourite beauty products of the past month or so. I’m sure I’ll have another one up after christmas. Although I won’t be getting too much as I’ve been lucky enough to get a new phone (Samsung Galaxy Note 4) after cracking the screen of my old phone- which I’ve never done before!

I’m going to try and get a bit of a winter haul type blog post up soon!

Ciao! xxx

